+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Query regarding PGWP; I am a part time student from Sep 2020 to Dec 2020(first term).

Bendu1575

Dec 21, 2020
Hi all,

I am enrolled in 19 months Post Baccalaureate diploma course in an University from September 2020 intake..
For this course completion, I need to secure 48 credits in 4 terms.

Timeline:
Applied Visa in July and received AIP.
Biometrics and Medicals done waiting for PPR and hoping to travel in January.

My concern is from September 2020 to December 2020. University has only one subject (03 credits) as online. I attended and completed only one subject (03 credits) and my status in University portal says "Part-time student". I am now concerned about PGWP. University did not provide enough online courses to be a full time student and now I might be at risk of PGWP refusal.

Upon contacting International office they said University devised a plan on course completion to obtain maximum PGWP. As per the plan I should take more subjects in Summer break (May 2021 to August 2021), University if well aware that we are part time and ensuring we are doing everything to grant you maximum PGWP. This is a new course costing 40K CAD and not sure they are well versed with Immigration rules.

My Questions:
Is it possible to get 03 years of PGWP even though I am part time student for my first term by taking more subjects in summer break ?
OR
Should I simply stop my studies at this University and join some other university later(may 2021/Sep 2021) and be a full time student from the beginning?

Please advice, I need 03 years of PGWP to gain some exposure. I don't mind even if I loose some of my tuition fee at my present University.

Ironclad

Champion Member
Aug 17, 2020
Canada
Online in combination with part time is not accepted for PGWP only the last semester should be part time.