+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Quebec - Crafty ways to change last name after marriage... or can I do it anyway

Hnhkrk

May 4, 2012
Illinois, USA
Category........
Visa Office......
LA --> Ottawa
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
04-09-2012
AOR Received.
17-10-2012
Med's Done....
09-08-2012
Interview........
Waived
Passport Req..
08-03-2013
VISA ISSUED...
16-04-2013
LANDED..........
25-04-2013
Hello!

I am getting ready to marry my fiance in Quebec. I know it's not typical to change your last name in Quebec when you get married, but me and my fiance would really like it if I shared his name. I know I can carry his last name socially, but eventually, I would like to get it legally changed as well... so here is my scenario.

I am currently a Resident of the USA. I will be visiting Canada in July, with no intentions of leaving until PR is approved. We will be married on August 4th. I know that I can go to a social security office here in the states to change my name, but I will have to cross the border for that and it's not something I'm willing to do since I don't want to risk not being allowed back into Canada. On the Ministry of Quebec's website, they say that you have grounds for a legal name change if you've been going by the name you want for 5+ years, and I was wondering if it would work that way? Could I apply for a legal name change if I were to use my husband's last name socially for 5+ years, or would they refuse it? I was also curious if there would be a way to adopt my fiance's last name when I go through the citizenship process?

Anyone go through a similar situation?

OhCanadiana

VIP Member
Feb 27, 2010
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
I'm not familiar with details of your nationality, or whether you've submitted your app, however, FWIW: