+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

PRTD for US Citizen

nvap23

Star Member
Apr 19, 2020
Hello:
I am a Canada Permanent Resident along with my family. But, my wife and kids had to travel to India for a family emergency.
While my wife has her PR Card, my kids who are US citizens could not get PR cards processed in time for travel.

Few questions:
1. Can my kids fly into Canada directly along with my wife considering that they have their CoPR with them and have US Passport?
I am told by another person in similar situation that IRCC mentioned to them that US passport holders can travel without PRTD and his kid received a Canada visitor visa on arrival because they did not have the PR card with them.
2. I do not mind applying for CoPR but the timeline for processing could take longer with Covid and Afghanistan crisis in which case I would like to avoid if it is not needed.

Thanks in advance.

canuck78

VIP Member
Jun 18, 2017
Hello:
I am a Canada Permanent Resident along with my family. But, my wife and kids had to travel to India for a family emergency.
While my wife has her PR Card, my kids who are US citizens could not get PR cards processed in time for travel.

Few questions:
1. Can my kids fly into Canada directly along with my wife considering that they have their CoPR with them and have US Passport?
I am told by another person in similar situation that IRCC mentioned to them that US passport holders can travel without PRTD and his kid received a Canada visitor visa on arrival because they did not have the PR card with them.
2. I do not mind applying for CoPR but the timeline for processing could take longer with Covid and Afghanistan crisis in which case I would like to avoid if it is not needed.

Thanks in advance.
Are your children PRs?

canuck78

VIP Member
Jun 18, 2017
Thank you Canuck sir for your prompt response.

Yes, Children are PRs since they have landed using CoPR but they never resided in Canada yet.