+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Program not matching previous studies - visa rejection?

Essie

Oct 4, 2016
Hi everyone!

I need your advice. I intend to apply to college in Toronto for a program starting in September 2017. I've done some research and apparently one of the most common reasons for visa rejection is when the chosen program does not match your previous education/work experience. Well, I have a bachelor degree from History and for a while I've wanted to completely change the field and move onto information technology. I have a keen interest in the field and I've been doing quite a lot of self-study but I have nothing to show for that and my work experience is mostly in administration.

I'm not gonna lie, I do like to prospect of potentially being able to stay in Canada permanently. I lived in Toronto for a year as a part of working holiday program and I absolutely loved it and made tons of friends there. However I do genuinely want to continue my education in a field that I enjoy and which can give me some actual job prospects. So I guess my question is. If I choose, say, web development as my program, how likely it is that my visa application gets rejected on that basis?

It just seems a bit counter productive not to allow potential students to pursue a different career path. I guess I could try for a completely different program but I can't really think of anything that relates to my degree in History (and I wouldn't be able to afford a university tuition for a M.A. in Liberal Arts for example). And anyway, that's my whole point, if it turns out I won't be able to stay longer in Canada after I graduate, at least I want to know that I spent my time and money on something that will have some practical use to me so I don't really want to compromise on my program choice.

Is there any solution that you can think of?

Thanks a lot!

harvijay1001

May 23, 2016
App. Filed.......
27-10-2016