+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

PR under Self-employed Category

Palamon

Star Member
Feb 12, 2019
Hi All,

I am a full-time author and columnist living and writing in India. I have twelve books published with leading publishers such as HarperCollins, Penguin and Hachette, and have been invited to speak at several literary festivals - couple of them being outside India. Although my publishers are all internationally renowned publishing houses, I wouldn't quite consider myself a 'world-renowned' or 'internationally reputed' author. I have written over 200 articles on a number of subjects for a leading publication in India. Despite this, I am not sure if my contributions or columns may be called 'internationally reputed'.

I am considering applying for Canadian PR under the self-employed category. I qualify under most of the eligibility criteria, although I am not sure about a couple of them (I'm coming to those in a bit). There seems to be a points based system. I should be able to clear the points cut-off very comfortably. But I do have a few questions which I was hoping the good people in this forum would help me with -

1. Is it mandatory for applicants to be 'internationally renowned' to qualify in this category? I think it would be fair to say that although I am not world renowned, I do have a significant name, readership and following here in India. Would that be of some value to the program?

2. A bit of research tells me that the Immigration Officer needs to believe that I would make 'significant contribution' to Canada if I am granted PR, but it does not go on to explain what the quoted term means. Now, my plan is to keep on writing novels, stories and film scripts if I am granted PR, and to also contribute to various Canadian publications on a freelance basis. Would this be considered as 'significant contribution'?