+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

PR RENEWAL ISSUE

deepanair44

Jun 9, 2013
I became a PR on 06-June-2008 and received the PR card in June 2008. PR card expires on 25-June 2013.

Initially I stayed for 2 years in Canada with my husband and children ( with a 3 month vacation in this 2 year period). While my husband remained in Canada, I moved to Middle East with children in 2010 due to recession and the possibility of my husband losing his job. I am a doctor and took up a job there and stayed there( Middle East) till April 2013. In the meanwhile I kept on coming to Canada annually ( during school vacation ) to fulfill the residency obligations. My husband remained in Canada during this period ( only 35 days out of Canada from 2008 to 2013).

Now I am back in Canada . Children have met their residency requirements and are currently in Canada and are going to stay here .

I needed 50 days to fulfill PR obligation and I landed on 05-May-2013 and will complete the 50 day period on 23rd June ( PR Card expires on 25-June-2013).

For PR renewal-
1. If date of entry to Canada ( 06-June 2008) is the criterion, my residency obligation will fall short by 18 days.
2. If PR card expiry date ( 25-June-2013) is the criterion, I will complete the mandatory requirement of 730 days.
3. I have to travel back to Middle East to wind up my job and is currently on an extended leave till August 2013.
My queries are-
A.Will there be an issue in renewal of my PR ?
B. If my PR is not renewed, how to travel back to Middle East (I am planning to come back to Canada permanently in mid 2014) .
(My husband is still a PR and will renew his PR along with children).
Please provide with valuable answers,Thanks

Leon

VIP Member
Jun 13, 2008
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
deepanair44 said:
For PR renewal-
1. If date of entry to Canada ( 06-June 2008) is the criterion, my residency obligation will fall short by 18 days.