+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

PR problem, Full time student, have not completed residency requirements,

liak

Apr 1, 2017
Hi there,

I landed on Jan 2013 as a permanent resident, however I have been a full time student in US ever since and will not complete my residency requirement by Feb 2018. What are my choices and what can I do to renew my PR since all my family live in Canada ever since we become permanent residence. I am 24 now.

Ponga

VIP Member
Oct 22, 2013
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
Well, the good news is that you are still a Permanent Resident of Canada. The bad news...is that you may eventually have it revoked because of failure to meet the Residency Obligation.

You will still be allowed to re-enter Canada (at a land border, since you would not require an eTA like you would if flying). If the CBSA officer determines that you have not met the RO, s/he may (or may not) report you to CIC for non-compliance. This would probably lead to your eventual loss of PR.

When you return to Canada, you would need to remain in Canada for 730 consecutive days. At which time, you would be back in compliance and then apply for your PR Card renewal.

Good luck!

liak

Apr 1, 2017
Thanks Ponga, Since the citizenship has changed to 4 years out of 6 years, is my PR would be valid for 6 years?is it possible to extend the validation for 1 more year? in this case I would be able to finish my school and go back to Canada. Since I am studying in one of the IV league schools in PhD its not logical to leave my education.

Thank you:)

Ponga

VIP Member
Oct 22, 2013
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
You're confusing PR validity with PR Card validity. Only your PR Card actually expires, since it is only valid for 5 years. You are still a PR, even though you haven't met the Residency Obligation, and will remain a PR until your status has been revoked, or you voluntarily renounce it.