+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

PR and marriage regestration advise needed!!!!!!

vish1979

Mar 19, 2007
My finance is Canadian permanent resident. I am here in US on student visa, my visas are expired but my I-94 is showing D/S instead of any expiration date. i am graduating this may, and i am planing to get married by Aug this year. Because of my visa i don't want to take any risks and go to Canada for registration of our marriage instead of that i prefer to do that process here in US. I am a resident of NJ and have my apartment lease on my name. i have a social security number but i have lost the card.

If i get married to a Canadian permanent resident here in US, get my marriage certificate and then my wife sponsor me there in Canada would that be a problem? I mean can she file papers with our status? is it required to appear for an interview in country where the marriage process was performed? or i can appear anywhere even in my home country if i decide to go back after getting married. what process should i exactly follow to avoid all complication? and is it advisable to get married and register our marriage in our home country or it don't create any significant problems.

cmk2

Oct 3, 2006
As a general comment, anyone can get married almost anywhere in the world, however, it will depend on Canadian Immigration authorities to validate whether the country/place where the marriage did take place was an "official" one. If you get married in Canada, then, you know for sure, that there won't be any questioning. However, since you are a non-US citizen residing in the States on a student visa and intend to get married with a Canadian wife in USA, then, it should be no problem.