+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Post Graduate worker waiting for PR under QSW track. Can I move to Ontario?

mgcarrenard

Oct 31, 2013
Hello All,

First of all, I'd like to thank the Forum as a whole for the countless times it has helped me navigate Canadian immigration processes for the 5 years that I've been living in Canada.

Just some history to have an idea of where I'm coming from:

I arrived in Quebec as a foreign student. I finished a 3 year Bachelor's program and then obtained a Post-Graduation work permit after I finished all my classes. After finishing my studies and obtaining my CSQ, I applied for Permanent Residence in Canada under the Quebec Skilled Worker category. I sent my application to CIC in February of 2013 and have since then sent in my medical exam results as well. I have been working full time for the past year and have had two different jobs during that period (One as a dispatcher for a security company, and my current job as an data analyst for an insurance company)
Recently my S.O. (Canadian citizen) has been interested in applyting to Toronto, Ontario for a new job.

Here is my question:
Am I able to move to Toronto with her, even though my application for PR under the QSW program is still under way? If I'm really serious about moving to Ontario, should I withdraw my application under the QSW program and make another application under the FSW program or the CEC program?
I have two years left on my Post-Graduation work permit. If ever I restarted the whole application process for Ontario, would I still have the time to receive my PR? Would I have to renew my work permit? CAN I renew my work permit?

Thank you for taking the time to read this and I hope you can help shed some light on this!

lpc19800

Champion Member
May 21, 2013
Canada
Category........
Visa Office......
CPP-O
NOC Code......
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
January 14 2013
AOR Received.
February 24 2013
Med's Request