+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

PGWP rejected and re-applied with restoration - wanna hear your thoughts!

momo1843

Nov 12, 2015
Hi everyone,

I'm so depressed and desperate because of my situation now. Please Please Please tell me how you feel about it.

I've graduated 3 years college program on last April, and applied for Open Work Permit (PGWP) on mid May.
That was the first time I applied for PGWP, so I just did whatever the website told me to do. However, I didn't attached any proof of graduation.
(I really graduated, but when i applied, it just didnt have anywhere to attach it and it didn't ask)
I thought about that, but it said they will reach me out when they need more document, so I wasn't really concerned about that.

I got a job on May and I was very satisfied with my new job since its related to what I studied in Canada.
However, on late September, I've got a refusal letter saying that they need to see the proof of graduation.
I DIDN'T GET ANY CONTACT / EMAILS FROM THEM FOR ADDITIONAL DOCUMENTS! I was so frustrated.

I called cic and the person told me to apply for restoration of work permit, and explain everything on the letter of explanation.
So I applied it with all the documents (including last transcription and official graduation letter) on October.

The biggest problem here is, PGWP has to be applied in 90 DAYS after graduation - I couldn't re-apply in 90 days since I got the refusal letter too late.
I'm so desperate and really need to hear that my application will be accepted.
I've done all the school, hard working, but I cannot work right now and I think this is a bit unfair for me. I really need this... :'(

What do you think? do you think I will still get rejected for this restoration?
Please let me know your thoughts...

Thanks guys,

ndrs11

Star Member
Jan 24, 2014
While the rule states that you must apply within 90 days of graduating,