+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

PGWP refusal (part time studies) - please help

ashleee

Oct 7, 2020
Hi, I just completed a 4 year engineering program here in Canada, with my study permit expiring on 1 August 2022. Unfortunately, I studied part time in the middle because my academic advisor suggested it to me due to my medical issues at the time, but she didn't know the rules about PGWPs back then. I did not know these rules either, otherwise I would have let myself fail those courses instead of landing in this situation :(

I am going to try to apply for a PGWP next week with medical docs, but judging from the posts here it looks like I still have a high chance of being rejected. After spending over $300,000 on my bachelor's degree and basically going into debt, it is really important for me to have a backup option in case my PGWP gets refused, so that my degree does not go to waste :(

I am so worried about the whole thing that I haven't even been able to eat or sleep for weeks now. I also have a fiance here (he is also a student obtaining a PGWP), and I cannot even imagine having to potentially leave Canada and never see him again because of this problem :( Life feels not worth living right now. If anyone has any advice or pathway ideas on how I could stay, I would really appreciate it. Here are the backup options I have thought of so far: