+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

PGWP. Help about spouse visa (OWP)

Janmeet Singh

Star Member
Aug 23, 2014
Hello Guys, I am having some trouble regarding following situations. Please help in any way you can.

1. I am a Masters Student in Western University.
2. I am graduating in April 2016 (in about 2 months).
3. Will apply for PGWP in May hopefully.
4. I am married.

The troubles I am having are:-

1. Should I apply for my wife's Open Work Permit right now in few days?
Code:
Since I am graduating in April and OWP usually takes about 2 to 3 months, so I am worried that this will be a problem, since the basis of OWP will be on my degree status (study permit).
2. Can I apply her OWP along with my application of PGWP? Is this even an option?
Code:
Or maybe temporary residence visa along with that and then change it into OWP when she is here.
3. If 2nd option is not valid, then I will have to apply her OWP after I got my PGWP.
Code:
So, in this situation will I need a relevant job to my study field to be able to apply for her OWP, or it is not that much of issue and job is not a problem. (Note: - Given that I can show enough funds required by CIC for one year of residency expenses).
Any help would be great I am confused and really don't know what to do.

scylla

VIP Member
Jun 8, 2010
Toronto
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
28-05-2010
AOR Received.
19-08-2010
File Transfer...
28-06-2010
Passport Req..
01-10-2010
VISA ISSUED...
05-10-2010
LANDED..........
05-10-2010
They won't grant her an OWP now since you have less than six months remaining in your studies. In order for her to qualify for an OWP once you have compelted your studies, you must first secure a job that is full time and NOC A, B or 0. So you will need to wait until after you have completed your program and have a full time skilled job before she can apply for her work permit.

Janmeet Singh

Star Member