+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Pay/Jobs for real estate professionals in Canada?

Hk1991

Apr 21, 2018
Hi all, thanks in advance for reading my post. I currently work as a Management Trainee in a Hong Kong property developer (not MNC) with a pay of ~$22K HKD and housing provided (roughly ~$8K HKD in value if shared with two roommates)/month. Is it possible for me to get an equivalent compensation in any Canadian city? My title of Management Trainee must be vague so let's say I'm a trainee in Leasing or Property Management (NOC 1224?). The ideal case is to go to a place that's as multicultural as possible; Also, I don't mind living a little further from Vancouver since I'm already taking long commutes every day (my residence is closer to the Chinese border than my office) anyway.

For now, I'm one requirement short of the FSW program (i.e., one year of unbroken work experience in one NOC). I have my IELTS scores (8+ average) and WES certification (Master's degree) already. However, my one year of work experience right now is in different NOCs (got rotated) so it doesn't count.

I want to know how best to go about job searching as a real estate professional in/around Vancouver or elsewhere? Do Canadian real estate firms and recruiters recognize HK work experience or do I need to go through a grad program (MRE, MBA, etc.) in Canada to get a foot in the job market? Wouldn't be cheap, even for PRs, but hey gotta do what you gotta do.

So, to recap my questions: (1) can I get equal or higher pay in Canada pre-tax and (2) what resources/recruiters to use for real estate professionals in Canada? Thank you all in advance.

Reactions: Ybenali

canuck78

VIP Member
Jun 18, 2017