+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Outbound PR Process - Expect to arrive in Canada before process complete

Heybird

Nov 14, 2009
Hi,

We've started our application process in New Zealand and will let everyone know via timeline how we're progressing as I've found the posts here to be very helpful.

We've only just sent off the FBI cert (my husband is Kiwi and I'm a Canuck). We anticipate the entire application process to take us well in mid-2010 (hopefully sooner) however we will be going to Canada for work in late April or early May (I'm a wedding photographer so that's when my season ramps up) and my husband will join me in Canada as a visitor (buying a return ticket to NZ, out household goods will be in NZ). While we're in Canada my understanding is this:

• if his PR cards is approved while we're in Canada, we will have to leave Canada and re-enter to get the PR card and complete the interview process - can we just cross the US border for a few days and come back in?
  • if by June we still haven't heard anything from CIC, can my husband apply for a temporary work permit from within Canada even though his PR application is an outbound one (being processed in Sydney, Australia? Is this easy enough? I read he needs to apply from abroad and have acceptance of work beforehand however he plans to visit Canada with me first and travel with me for weddings for the first part and then either relax and visit with family or if possible get a temporary work permit - we're not sure but thought we'd find out ahead of time. he will be going back to NZ to finalise our relocation to Canada once the PR is approved