+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Options needed to enter Canada with Expired PR card

Sricand

Aug 13, 2016
Hello there,
Here is my situation.
Myself- I got my Canadian PR in NOV 2016. Landed in Canada in Jan 2018 and worked until Feb 2020 after which I had to leave Canada for personal reasons. Canadian PR expired in NOV 2021. Taxes wise I have been filing taxes since 2018 until 2022.
Family- Obtained their PR in Dec 2018 however had to leave Canada in Dec 2019. Their PR Card expired in Dec 2023.

I am intending to return to Canada along with my family around June 2025 (unable to travel anytime soon because of children's education commitments). Given the residency obligation (RO) to renew PR, all of us will not be able to meet the RO (760 days) in June 2025 as we all left before June 2020. Also, we have not formally renounced our PR nor do we intend to apply for PR travel document as we do not meet RO (we were told that applying for PRTD w/o meeting RO would initiate renouncement). What possible options do I have?

1. Is it worth the risk to rent a car from US and drive to Canada with our expired PR cards in June 2025? Will we be denied entry as my card expired in 2021 and family's cards expired in 2023?
2. I have worked for Canadian employer between 2018-2020. Would it be better to just reapply for Express Entry PR for myself and my family with this Canadian experience?
3. If I need to re-apply for PR, do we all need to formally renounce our PR status or can we just go ahead and submit EOI and a new application once invited?

Looking forward to your inputs. Thanks in Advance.

Regards
Sri

Naturgrl

VIP Member
Apr 5, 2020
Hello there,
Here is my situation.
Myself- I got my Canadian PR in NOV 2016. Landed in Canada in Jan 2018 and worked until Feb 2020 after which I had to leave Canada for personal reasons. Canadian PR expired in NOV 2021. Taxes wise I have been filing taxes since 2018 until 2022.