+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Not sure if I qualify for graduate CEC

slonicsson

May 5, 2010
Hi

I finished a Canadian university in 2006 then I took a year off and then did my honours degree at another canadian university. As the result of this decision I had only one year of post-graduate work permit. I worked full time for about 9 months. After that I managed to get enrolled in science Msc graduate program. Now I am a graduate research assistant and had 180 hours of lab teaching assistantship. I wonder if I qualify for CEC graduate stream now?
I talked to different organizations and they give different answers. I consulted with an immigration lawyer and she said that I should apply but call agents of CIC said that I do not qualify. I am really confused

jes_ON

VIP Member
Jun 22, 2009
Category........
Visa Office......
New York
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
06-May-2010
AOR Received.
13-Aug-2010
File Transfer...
01-Mar-2011
Passport Req..
30-Jun-2011
VISA ISSUED...
12-Jul-2011 (received 25-Jul-2011)
LANDED..........
03-Sep-2011
Was your 9 months (really need to know more about # of weeks and hours per week worked) full-time employment within the past 2 years? Do you have another 450 hours (est. of 12 weeks at 37.5 hours) to make up the other 3 months of your 1 year requirement?

slonicsson

May 5, 2010
jes_ON said:
Was your 9 months (really need to know more about # of weeks and hours per week worked) full-time employment within the past 2 years? Do you have another 450 hours (est. of 12 weeks at 37.5 hours) to make up the other 3 months of your 1 year requirement?
Hi, Thanks for replying to my questions.
my 9 months of work was 40 hours/week. It was a technical NOC B job in my area of study.
I will definitely have a year of work experience if you count my graduate research and teaching assistantships. The issue is that I am not if this part time experience will count toward one year experience for CEC.