+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Not allowed to work until having SIN number

nothingtt28

Star Member
Nov 30, 2017
Ok guys,

Let me share you all my long troublesome story. And please I need your advice or sharing.

I was a PhD student in US and just graduated last November. I made decision for a postdoc job in Canada because of PR application in the future. Staying in the States will bring me longer time and it is hard to get green card there. I applied and got a work permit to Canada.

I drove across the border last Saturday and expected to start working on Mon Feb 12th 2018 at the University of Alberta. Honestly I didn't know/ recognize the problem of SIN card before. I went to school on Monday and was asked to go applying for SIN card. And it was said that I would obtain the number right away.
Unfortunately, my case was not. The officer at Service Canada said that there was an error in my files that she couldn't issue me a number right away. She had to mail my document to the head office, asking to get it fixed and mailing to my address later on. At that time, I even didn't recognize that it would bring me troubles. The University said that I am not allowed to work until they see my SIN card physically. I am feeling very frustrated and fed up now. HR people do not know anything and absolutely are not professional and helpful trying to find the answer if I can work....They are definitely not flexible to find me a solution. I didn't think this is a big problem because I do have a work permit. And probably I thought in the US way, in US they can put you in the system right away and will update the SSN number after you get it...