+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Nexus Eligiblity - New Permanent Resident

actntrl

Jan 21, 2017
Good Afternoon,

I've recently become a PR and wish to apply for NEXUS since I am a frequent traveller to the USA.

I have some questions regarding my eligiblity.

1. Even though I am a new PR, I've been a lawful resident in Canada for 7 years. First as a student, then worker, then PR. I am a bit confused by the wording on the website, citing that I need 3 years of residency. Does this mean 3 years of residency as a PR or in general for Canada?

2. My current US B1/B2 Visa Expires in 2021. Do i need to renew it before applying.

Thank you in advance.

21Goose

VIP Member
Nov 10, 2016
AOR Received.
Feb 2017
Yes, you are eligible for a Nexus card. I just got a Nexus card as well.

1. You need to have been resident in the US or Canada for three years. Doesn't need to be PR, just lawful residence. I lived in the US for 8-odd years on a work visa, and then about 18 months in Canada when I applied for the Nexus card.

2. You need a valid visa and a valid I-94. If you don't have a valid I-94, they will ask you to go get one. In my case, I had a valid visa, but my I-94 had expired a few months ago. When I went to the Nexus office at Niagara Falls, they simply told me to hop across the border and come back. So I made a very short trip to the US (I was there for maybe 20 minutes), and drove right back, and they approved my application.

If I'd gone to the Nexus office in Mississauga (I think it's there), then they would have told me to come back after I had a valid I-94.

actntrl

Jan 21, 2017
Thank you!

So once I get my Nexus, do I still need to keep my US visa renewed? My current B1 B2 is expiring July 2021

21Goose

VIP Member
Nov 10, 2016
AOR Received.
Feb 2017
Thank you!

So once I get my Nexus, do I still need to keep my US visa renewed? My current B1 B2 is expiring July 2021