+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Newbie ISO Advice in Filing Outbound

KevinsJane

Star Member
Apr 21, 2009
Canada
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
First off, I would like to thank all of you for all the words of wisdom and advice I have received by searching the forum, thus far. Though I am a newbie in posting, I have found such a wealth of information on this board, which has directed my paths in areas I have been stumped over.

As many as you know...this journey is a bit overwhelming and can feel intimidating at times, but as you take each part of the task by the horns, you feel accomplishment at the end of the day. I am heading into the final stages...and am ready for the sigh of relief.

Here is my mouthful...which is in need of some expertise advice....
My husband , who is Canadian is my sponsor and I am an American Citizen. I am filing outbound.

Name on Application ~Family Name~ Given Names

Since I have been married previous, my passport lists my name with my former married name, as example:(My divorce papers were verified by an atty in Canada, then sent Thunder Bay for approval to marry legally)
Jane Anne Smith-Adams

my BC obviously lists my name as
Jane Anne Smith

My new married name is
Jane Anne Smith Doe

but the legal papers, registrar letter, marriage certificate and passport displays my former-married name.

Presently, I have listed my name as Jane Anne Smith-Adams, my former married name, on all the applications but have realized that once the paperwork is processed and approved (hopeful) the legal documents will have me listed as my former married name.

Should I use my now legal name of Jane Anne Smith-Doe, use my name which is on my Birth Certificate or use my former married name on my documents? Either way include a cover letter of explanation, with the divorce papers, BC and Passport supporting my reasoning of name used?

Dependent Children