+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

New Kid on The Block - Some Basic Questions (I think!)

Emily RugBurn

Dec 14, 2009
New York State
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo, USA
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
26-07-2010
AOR Received.
10-09-2010
File Transfer...
25-08-2010
Med's Done....
07-07-2010
Interview........
waived 14-10-10
Hi Folks,

Very glad I found this forum -- it's been extremely helpful since deciding to move back to Canada. Thanks to all who contribute!! You are helping people you don't even know exist!!

OK, here are the pertinent details: I'm a Canadian citizen. I married my American husband in Toronto, Canada in 2004. In 2007, I moved to the US (New York state) on a family-class visa so we could (finally!) be together. I got my green card in January of 2008, so I have been a legal US resident since then. Cut to November of 2009 and we have decided we want to move (back) to Canada. ;) Here are my questions:

1. How do I re-establish permanent residency back in Canada (Ontario)? I looked around and I don't actually see any forms relating to PR for Canadian citizens, just forms I need to fill out when I move all my possessions back... Is there a form, or am I considered a PR just by moving back?...

2. If it's possible, would it be better (quicker/easier) to apply to sponsor my husband while we are both residing in the US (where we are now), or should I move back to Canada first and re-establish myself (job, house, etc...) and then start the process?...

2. a) If it is indeed better/easier for me to move back to Canada first, is there a visa that my husband would qualify for so he could be with me in Canada while he waits for his PR status?

3. I just read on one of the threads here that there is no minimum income requirement if you are sponsoring a spouse. Is that true?