+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

New Immigrant in dilemma : Oracle DBA

kn2172

Star Member
Jul 30, 2014
I am (35) & we are family of three. Wife (33) & Kid(3). We are all PR holders of Canada under the Nova Scotia provincial nominee program. This year we are planning to make a permanent move to Canada within the next 30-40 days.

On the professional front, I have been working as an Oracle DBA since the past 11 years with Amdocs & Infosys in India.

Before making the move we started researching and taking feedback from many people in Canada through various mediums (personal contacts, WhatsApp, Facebook, etc.) regarding the current job scenario for new immigrants. From most of the people, the feedback we got was that it does make sense to make the move in our case due to age, technology(DBA) & financial savings. On checking further we found people in the IT industry were quite positive. But again, when we checked more we found that the IT people who were happy about coming to Canada were all developers and testers.

At the same time we started checking various job portal and found there are very few jobs for DBAs and even if they are there, most of them required MS SQL server skills.

So ultimately when we matched my skills (Oracle DBA) with the available jobs, we found it negative and stuck in dilemma. We went further and started talking with DBAs who are currently working in Canada and found that DBA work is mostly handled by internal people and there are very chances that the organizations put up the job openings for DBAs.

From all these conversation & research, we concluded a few things and started finding answers for the same. It would be really great if you can share your advice on the same and we would be highly glad if you can help us in any way to get into the first job at any level.

Below are the concerns that we are facing now and finding out the way to get over them.