+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

my story: questions posed by a super newbie.

BaileySponge

Mar 15, 2010
Hello! I am VERY new to all of this.....I can tell that this process is going to be an iceberg of learning, and after a few days of reading, I'm not even on the tip yet.
i'm still at the iceberg climbing store, scoping out the tools i'm going to need to do this properly. this forum is definitely one of those tools.

anyways....i have an american boyfriend, and we are now working on how to get him here, in canada with me.
there are different options we are looking at:

he is a student in college, and we are looking at the option of him transferring to a canadian school, and applying as an internation student to a college in my city. however, this will be quite expensive, as international students get charged quite a bit more to learn here..

if he was finished his degree, then he could maybe get into my country as a skilled worker...but unfortunately that's two years away. so this isn't an option we would like to entertain.

the other option is for me to sponsor him as my husband. so we are looking at getting married in a courthouse, no bells and whistles, basically we would be in it for a piece of paper that says we're married. i'm looking a lot into this option, as it would mean he could go to school here for much cheaper than if he came to canada as an international student.

so i guess these are my questions, to help me decide where i should start putting my focus on:

- are there any options i'm missing? i noticed for australians there was a two year holiday stay.....where australians can come to canada to work, and just get to know canada. maybe i didn't spend enough time looking at it, but it just seemed like an easy thing to offer, and not too difficult to obtain.