+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Moving my used goods from China to Canada

airliner777

Nov 30, 2011
Hi.
I am a permanent resident in Canada and have been here for 5 years.
I kept my apartment in China. Now I sold it and want to move my belongings to Canada.
Sorry .. I did not complete a B4 Form.
My question is: Will I now have to pay duty when my goods arrive in Canada?
These are all used goods for personal use.
Items include: Sofa, bed, Stereo Equipment, glassware ...all over 10 years old.
Thanks for your replies.
Jennifer

toby

Champion Member
Sep 29, 2009
Category........
Visa Office......
Hong Kong
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
November 2009
Med's Done....
October 2009 and 15 April 2011
Interview........
4 April 2011
Passport Req..
4 April 2011
VISA ISSUED...
7 July 2011
LANDED..........
15 July 2011
I'm not a customs expert. What I would if I were you is to contact the local Customs office.

However, my personal experience might be useful to know. When my wife landed in July 2011, I was there with her; I am a Canadian citizen, but have not lived in Canada for many years. We told the Immigration Officer that we were returning to China for a year or two before settling permanently in Canada. I was prepared to submit the list of goods to follow right then, but the immigration officer said to wait until I was actually ready to move permanently to Canada.

Your situation is different, because you have settled in Canada. But if you can prove that the goods are used personal items, you should not be taxed. The difficulty is proving it.

By the way, have you located a company good at transporting your goods from China to Canada? I will need to do this some time too.

steaky

VIP Member
Nov 11, 2008
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
I agree with Toby about contact the Canada Border Services Agency. You can call toll free or send them an email.