+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Moving from Alberta to Ontario, 3 months waiting period for OHIP

Cath621

Star Member
Aug 7, 2014
Hello,

I'm currently studying in Alberta with study permit and health care card expiring by the end of August. Starting in Sept I will be studying at another university in Ontario so I am gonna renew my study permit, but with a different institution. So I am just wondering do I have to wait for 3 months to get the OHIP? Coz I have a 6-month kid as dependent and he might need to see a paediatrician regularly which I guess would cost A LOT. BTW, he was born in Canada so he's a citizen, but in Alberta he has to be a dependent of parents so his health care expires at the same time as mine.

One way I thought of is to renew my Alberta Health Care with the renewed SP. But it has an institution in Ontario so it is unlikely to work.

spyfy

Champion Member
May 8, 2015
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
LANDED..........
26-08-2015
Unlike Alberta, international students on a study permit are not eligible for provincial health insurance in Ontario (OHIP). Instead you are automatically enrolled in the University Health Insurance Plan (UHIP) which offers the same services as UHIP (with some minor exceptions).

The coverage for UHIP begins on Sep 1 and ends at Aug 30, even if you graduate during the year. If you begin you studies in the Winter or Summer term, the details may vary, you have to check the website of your Ontario University. But in any case there is no waiting period.
For the University of Toronto this is the page (if you don't go to U of T, this is NOT the right page for you, you must check the appropriate website):
https://www.cie.utoronto.ca/Coming/UHIP.htm

spyfy

Champion Member
May 8, 2015
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
LANDED..........
26-08-2015