+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Moving Back To Canada?

Tee76

May 30, 2009
Here's a question im having trouble trying to get answers to:

I was born in Michigan and at age 7 moved to Ontario because my mother married a Canadian.I have landed immigrant/permanent resident status in Canada.I lived in Ontario from age 7 up until age 29. I moved back to Michigan midway through 2005 at age 29 and have been here since (I'm 33) so 4 years. Recently i've been thinking about moving back to Canada, can i freely move back seeing as i lived there for so long or do i have to start over from scratch so to speak? Do i still have status in Canada or am i just considered 100% American Citizen again? I still have my Canadian ID and SIN # etc.

Just wondering what i would have to do to move back. Been told different things from different people, the main thing i'm hearing is i can move back hassle free seeing as i was a permanent resident and because i lived in Canada already for over 20 years. I had no problems coming back to the US (didn't even get my U-haul pulled in at Customs or asked for paperwork etc.) After being gone for so long so I'm wondering if it would be the same trying to move back to Canada

Another thing someone told me was: "Being a permanent resident means it´s permanent. You can go back with no hassle unless you got yourself deported." Also my parents as well as other family members and friends and my son live in Ontario.

I don't even have a PR card or anything of that sort,never have.Only ever have the old Landed Immigrant papers from the early 1980's.Which have no expiration date unlike these PR cards they have nowadays.

Any help would be greatly appreciated thanks.

Leon

VIP Member
Jun 13, 2008
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..