+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Minimum visa validity to enter Canada - Work permit

Ram89

Star Member
Oct 5, 2018
Hi ,

I have 2.5 months validity on my Canada Work permit . I havent entered canada for a year after getting this WP and this is my first time.

Do I need to carry any proof of why I didnt travel so far or is this a risk to enter canada with 2.5 months of visa validity?

My employer will file for extension after landing and in a week.

Please advise.

Naturgrl

VIP Member
Apr 5, 2020
You can enter Canada if
  • You have a valid work permit and normally live in Canada. (You don’t so you must meet the next points7
    • This applies even if you’ve been laid off.
  • You’re a worker who meets all of the following: (need to meet these conditions)
    • has a letter of introduction for a work permit (open or employer-specific)
    • has a valid job offer
    • can work once you enter Canada and complete your 14-day quarantine
https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/coronavirus-covid19/foreign-workers.html#outside

Ram89

Star Member
Oct 5, 2018
You can enter Canada if
  • You have a valid work permit and normally live in Canada. (You don’t so you must meet the next points7
    • This applies even if you’ve been laid off.
  • You’re a worker who meets all of the following: (need to meet these conditions)
    • has a letter of introduction for a work permit (open or employer-specific)
    • has a valid job offer
    • can work once you enter Canada and complete your 14-day quarantine
https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/coronavirus-covid19/foreign-workers.html#outside
Thanks.

Does it mean people who satisfy these conditions can enter into Canada even though they have less validity of visa ?
I am worried the border officer might question about my late entry. Do I need any document justifying the delay

Naturgrl

VIP Member
Apr 5, 2020