+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

looking for a house...

karanips2000

Nov 6, 2010
hello all...
me and my family will be landing in canada in feb 2011.we also don't know much people or have relatives where we can stay temporary for a short time
so can someone guide me where it would be easy for a family of 3 and a pet dog to live

thank you

thezieglers

Star Member
Sep 14, 2010
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
If I were you I'd take a look at the ads in the BC newspapers (choose the city)

http://www.allyoucanread.com/british-columbia-newspapers/

In those ads I'd look at prices and conditions, in particular where they say "no pets allowed"

Also, use a map to check the area and look for some info related to neighborhoods in your city... just to avoid been caught in some gangs shooting!

Good Luck!

NeedleArtist

Star Member
Oct 9, 2008
Vancouver, BC
Category........
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
I'm an international student in Vancouver. My wife and I moved up here in May of this year from the U.S. I don't know where you're coming from, but ift its the US, a couple of things about rentals/housing in general you should be aware of.

1. Generally speaking, you're going to find that housing/apartment/condo sizes are noticeably smaller here than in the US (square footage-wise).
2. Finding someplace that will accept pets of any kind, and dogs in particular, is going to be extremely problematic. The local want ads and leetr-to-the-editor sections of local papers are FULL of local residents desparate to find places that will accept pets!
3. Likewise, if you smoke, you're also going to have a tough time finding a place.