+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

IT skilled worker visa via work & travel?

sdi

Jan 25, 2010
Hi everybody (and especially those who want to help :)),

I am planning to move to canada permanentely, so I spent the last weeks in gathering information about the immigration process. The hardest step probably is finding a job and get a LMO.
My (long-term) goal is to get a permanent resident visa, and I found two approaches that might be suitable for me.

1.) Youth Mobility Program (Work & Travel)
Maybe the easiest way to get a job in Canada, as there is no LMO required. Unfortunately this visa cannot be extended, so I would have to get a valid work-permit within 12 months.
However I have the cance to prove my skills and I might find an employer willing to make the effort of applying for a LMO.

2.) Skilled Worker
This would be my favourite visa, however I don't know how steep the hurdle LMO might turn out. I am a software developer from Germany and meet all the requirements, might even be able to get a Job under NOC9990.6 which doesn't require a work permit at all.
It's just that I don't want to move overseas and realize that I cannot find a job, because of a missing LMO.

Some facts you might want to know:
I will fly to Canada in may this year, either with a work & travel visa or as a visitor, depending on your answers ;) Yes, I know it's a short-term. First step of course would be finding a job, I think it's much easier from within canada. One problem that might arouse is the processing time for a skilled worker visa.
Unfortunately I don't have a diploma, because I decided to take a job instead after I finished my Abitur (school graduation), but I have a finished apprenticeship, six years work experience and IT - certificates to (hopefully) fulfil the NOC 9990.6 requirements.

Basically I got the following questions: