+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

It has been asked before, but I am still not clear with the answer.

annabruce

Jan 15, 2010
Ottawa
Category........
Visa Office......
Vegreville
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
Received: 01-11-2010
File Transfer...
09-10-2012 (Ottawa)
Med's Done....
30-11-2011, x-ray delayed (pregnancy), redone on August 31, 2012
"1.) The only thing she needs to qualify as a sponsor is to not be bankrupt and not be on social assistance. No job necessary, though it's always nice. But even people with no income can sponsor, so it's not an issue.
"

If this is true, why does the application and REQUIRED forms for sponsoring only my spouse require such detailed information about my financial situation?

I am a 38 year old guy who returned to university a few years ago. My income is VERY limited, but will be much better in the near future when my degree is finished. I am afraid to fill out some of the financial questions asked.

Leon

VIP Member
Jun 13, 2008
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
Fill out anything they ask for truthfully. The financial evaluation is there for people who are sponsoring some other relative than their spouse. Or just because immigration is curious. But really, you do not need to prove income to sponsor your spouse.

tgchi13

Nov 25, 2009
Ontario Canada
Category........
Visa Office......
NY via Buffalo
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
June 08
File Transfer...
05 August 08
Med's Request
April 08
Med's Done....
June 08
Interview........
12 Nov 09
Passport Req..
none
VISA ISSUED...
refused Nov 09
annabruce said:
"1.) The only thing she needs to qualify as a sponsor is to not be bankrupt and not be on social assistance. No job necessary, though it's always nice. But even people with no income can sponsor, so it's not an issue.
"