+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Is it worth it?

scottyxx

Sep 14, 2011
Hi all.

I have been working in Canada on an AIESEC internship, Costing me around $500 total. Once I started this job I decided I wanted to stay in Canada, and so worked my ass off to get the open work permit through BUNAC. Costing me around $500 again. I have struggled and struggled, and it is taking its toll on me, I feel depressed and its all just not good.

I am a UK Citizen. I have two Masters degrees in Engineering and Computer Science. I have 2 years of work experience at 35 hours per week - NOT 37 1/2hours per week.

Right now it seems there is no actual way for me to emigrate here? Is there? I dont meet CEC, I don't have a Canadian to marry, I don't have any family here, I dont have a "desired occupation", and no company is willing to fill in LMO for me.

I took the IELTS, another $300 and got an 8.5.

Basically, I want to know for anyone who has come over to Canada, is it even worth all this trouble? Is it worth the constant stress, or being constantly told you cannot speak English, or being laughed at because you are different? I just feel like the price is too high, like trying to find the extra 2 months of work I need to make enough hours for CEC without any type of open work permit option will be impossible.

Anyone got any experiences to share?

Alabaman

Apr 24, 2009
Edmonton
Visa Office......
Edmonton
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
I think its worth it since you like it here and you have already gone far in the process. Just keep trying and talk to people.

AH

Mar 7, 2010
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
I think once you pass this time and get the PR you work life will be much better...since you have degree in computers. There are a lot of good options will open up for you.

scottyxx

Sep 14, 2011
But I don't even meet the requirements for PR, I dont know what my options are.. I am only a few hundred hours short.

toby

Champion Member