waiting.
IELTS Request
N/A
Med's Request
Upfront
Med's Done....
Upfront
Hi, I was told to post in this section for tax advice. Below is my question:

So I have been a student in Alberta since 2008. I did internship from May 2012 to August 2013 and worked part time till the end of 2013.
I went to file taxes for the first time at H&R block and I was told to submit all my T2202A since 2008. So I did that for every year to carry forward the tuition credits and filed my T4 for 2013. I was told to pay CRA a certain amount because there was a cap on how much tuition credits I could use in one year.
I went again this year with my new T4 and T2202A and apparantly, I am not able to use up the tution credits from 2008-2011 because I was a "non resident without canadian income until 2012". So basically, I owe the government again this year.

I was under the impression that because I was an international student, I was considered a resident and my tax tuition credits should be valid for use??
My friends claim they can use up all their credits from when they started.

Can anyone enlighten my on what I am missing here? and what to do next?

Thanks!

Also I will add that I was checking my TD1 form that I submitted when I started work. I checked "Non-Resident" box thinking that since I am an international student, I would be a non-resident. I later realised I was wrong and filled out a new TD1 form for my company. Could this have affected my tax return and is it a really big problem that I filled out the tax return form wrong? I will call up CRA tomorrow.

Rosie1957

Mar 9, 2014