+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

International Student: 1-year Program then apply to CEC

LeonardoTM

Mar 11, 2019
Hello everyone,

I am currently in a one-year program and due to limited funds I was thinking of not pursuing a second program, which in effect would only grant me a 1-year PGWP.

Given this scenario, I wanted to ask the following:
  1. Has anyone done the same and was able to pass the CEC requirements?
  2. What's the timeline I should follow in terms of landing a Full Time job? My program is ending April 2020 and my study permit will expire July 2020.
  3. Can't I just get two Part Time jobs and hit the 1560 target work hours in a year then apply for CEC? Does it really need to be a Full Time job?
  4. What are the best options in order to land a Full Time job? I have over 12 years of Human Resources experience from my home country, MS Office 2016 Master level certification, and a part-time job on campus (e.g. Database Administration)
Appreciate any advice you can give.

Diane Matthie

Feb 28, 2019
Inland
Category........
PNP
Visa Office......
Ottawa
NOC Code......
Job Offer........
Yes
App. Filed.......
12-06-2019
AOR Received.
12-06-2019
LANDED..........
18-09-2021
Hello everyone,

I am currently in a one-year program and due to limited funds I was thinking of not pursuing a second program, which in effect would only grant me a 1-year PGWP.

2. What's the timeline I should follow in terms of landing a Full Time job? My program is ending April 2020 and my study permit will expire July 2020.
  3. Can't I just get two Part Time jobs and hit the 1560 target work hours in a year then apply for CEC? Does it really need to be a Full-Time job?
  4. What are the best options in order to land a Full-Time job? I have over 12 years of Human Resources experience from my home country, MS Office 2016 Master level certification, and a part-time job on campus (e.g. Database Administration)

Hi,