+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Inland-Landing Interview with Charge in the past

hieprock

Sep 7, 2018
Hello guys

I’ve applied for Permanent Residence under Spousal Sponsorship in Sep 2018

I’d like to explain a little bit about my background.

I was an international student in Toronto and got married in 2018 after graduation. My wife is Canadian and I apply for PR after our marriage wedding.
In 2014 ,I got involve into a problem and was charge with Minor Assault and got Absolute Discharge after all. My criminal record was automatically purged after a year (2015) according to the law. I applied to destroy my fingerprints,photograph & info and everything was destroyed in 2016,I got 2 Confirmation Letter from RCMP and Toronto Police which indicate everything was destroyed and my name is not related to any crimes.

I have explain and tell IRCC every single detail of my charge & absolute discharge when I applied for PR as well as the previous times when I applied to renew Study Permit,Work Permit

Today I got a Landing Interview email from IRCC which says we’re scheduled for an interview this Saturday in Etobicoke. It requires to bring photos,2 pcs of ID,pay PR fee 490$,etc...

My friends told me the questions they were asked at landing interview and one of them was
• “Have you ever been charged or convicted in the past?”
OR
•”Have you ever committed in any crimes in the past?”

I believe I would have to say YES and explain to them every single detail again. I’m worried if I say YES ,would that affect the Final Decision?

Has anyone here ever had the same situation? I need your advices about a good to explain and heartily appreciate your help.

k.h.p.

VIP Member
Mar 1, 2019
Canada