Information: Living expenses in Toronto/Canada

GS_Stud

Apr 6, 2011
Canada
Category........
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
All,

I'm an International student from New Delhi who received a lot of information from this forum when I was applying for my visa/College. I got admission, then Visa and am currently in Canada doing my pg studies.

I will be providing some information that might be useful for you guys. Starting with living cost in Canada.

Of course, it really depends upon individual to individual and some areas are expensive than others. I will be providing data for Toronto since I'm here for past 6 months.

Let's categorise the major expense in groups:
Rent [250-600]
Transportation [100]
Food [150-300]
Entertainment [0-150]
Phone: 55

Total Monthly Expense [550-1100]

RENT
This is what I've seen in the area:
Single room in a house (Sharing Kitchen, personal bathroom): 600-750/month
Single room in a house (Sharing Kitchen, Sharing bathroom): 500-550 [Can also find small room as low as 450]
Basement: 700-800 [2 people can easily stay]
College/University Hostel: usually around 800/month. Have to give 8 month rent in advance. For some college you also have to buy a meal plan. Room is very small, and bathroom is shared. Usually no kitchen and only microwave and a fridge is provided.
1 BHK : about 800-900 (3 people can easily stay, even 4 can be managed]
Rent Conditions: You have to sign a 1 year contract [Can't leave accommodation before 1 year but can sublet]. Two months notice period. First and last required (two month rent in first go, then monthly rent)

Transportation
Car: Forget about car. car is cheap (can even buy in just 3000) but insurance is costly (usually 400/month, yes!)
Cab: usually $8-10/km
Public Transport: Excellent service, very comfortable: Subway or Streetcar (Tram) or Buses. Monthly pass of $99 for students, 120 for general public.

Food