+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Indian Wedding vs. Court Marriage

akshay_vic

Oct 22, 2019
I am a permanent resident of Canada and will be getting engaged next month in India. We are planning to get married around March, next year. The girl is based in India (Bombay), and so are both of our families.

I would like to have my wife join me in Canada as soon as possible after the marriage, ideally accompanying me on the return trip to Canada.

In my research so far, I came across a few options available and heard differing opinions online, as well as from my friends who have gone through a similar process. I am listing these options below. I would really appreciate some honest feedback on the pros and cons of them from the experienced members, and/or any better alternate options, if there are any.

1. Visitor Visa
This was the first option that came to my mind. I could ask my (future) wife to apply for a visitor visa of Canada (before we get married), so she could fly back to Canada with me after the marriage.

However, I heard from friends and online that the immigration officers would consider this (applying for the visitor visa and then getting married) as a red flag and reject the visitor visa.

2. Court Marriage
Quite a few people recommended this option. Basically, I'd get married in court when I am going to India next month, in November. Once we get the marriage certificate, then I can start the spouse sponsorship process immediately in December. Once the PR is approved, I can go to India and get married in a traditional way. and she can fly back with me to Canada.