+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Income before coming to Canada

KLRK

Jul 7, 2016
Hello everyone, I have two specific questions about my tax situation here, in Canada. I would be very pleased if somebody responds in my topic.

I have been working in Canada since September 2015. Before I came here I have been working in my country and paid all of the taxes there. As far as I know I do not have to declare my foreign income (from before I came to Canada) so while filling the tax application I put "0" in the bracket "FOREIGN INCOME BEFORE COMING TO CANADA".
I was reading a lot about it and I was pretty sure that I am correct doing this.
Could anyone respond me if I'm right in this matter?

Actually the main reason I'm asking this question is that I got an email from CRA and they're asking me about the income from my country before I came to Canada cause they want to "calculate the amount of HSTC/GST I may be entitled to receive for July 2016 to April 2017" (they mean my world income, converted to Canadian dollars before I came to CA)

I did a lot of research in that matter but the letter they send me freightened me a little because now I'm thinking that perhaps I should have tell them my foreign income.

Could anyone help please? Thank you.

Naheulbeuck

Aug 14, 2015
Yes you should have, you do not have to pay taxes on it but it is calculated to determine your yearly income and therefore credits that you are entitled or not entitled to.

You do not need to tell them prior years however you needed to disclose your world income for 2015, since you came to Canada only in September, you should have disclosed income from January to September, before you became a resident of Canada.

KLRK

Jul 7, 2016
Thank you kindly for your response.
However, I am not sure if you understand my issue. Perhaps because my English could be better...
So, what I meant exactly: