+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

I'm new to this - Work or Family Sponsorship? Where do I start please?

Irish Colleen

Star Member
Aug 8, 2010
Ontario
Category........
Visa Office......
London
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
13th December 2011
File Transfer...
7th February 2012
Med's Done....
9th December 2011
LANDED..........
20th May 2012
I have been in a relationship for over a year now with my lovely man in Canada. I'm sure you all understand the frustrations - phone calls, emails, visits that end all too soon.

I'm an Irish Citizen but I'm living in the UK at present with a decent job. My job is on the list for the Federal Skilled Worker category and I scored 68 points but I know I would need a job offer in order to be considered for a Canadian Permanent Resident Visa.

I was looking to relocate next spring - Help!!

Are we better going down the family sponsorship route? I understand this means I can't work for at least a year once I go and live with my man. Is this right?

Sorry if I am asking really commonly asked questions - but where do I go from here?

Finances are not a problem for either of us. We just want to make sure we get it right!

Thanks in advance for any advice...................

canadianwoman

VIP Member
Nov 6, 2009
Category........
Visa Office......
Accra, Ghana
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
30-01-2008
Interview........
05-05-2009
Irish Colleen said:
Are we better going down the family sponsorship route? I understand this means I can't work for at least a year once I go and live with my man. Is this right?
If you and he get married, he could sponsor you right after the wedding. London processes fairly quickly, so you would probably be accepted and in Canada before a year - and as a PR, legally able to work.
If he sponsors you as his common-law partner, you have to live together for a year first before you can apply.