+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

illegal in usa

bzguy

Mar 20, 2011
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
Hi all,

I have been living in USA for 8 and a half years with my wife and kids. We came here legally with a tourist visa and stayed legally for 6 months until our stay permit expired making us illegals. After a couple years, I got a work permit and used it for 7 months then I moved and it eventually expired without use. I then renewed it but it was eventually void by the immigration department. I only worked legally for those 7 months. I now have a bachelor's degree acquired in USA and would like to apply for either Quebec or any other province in Canada. We are still living in USA in the same situation but would like to know if we can apply before deciding to move back to Brazil (our country of origin) and apply from there. I have 7 years of experience in Brazil and 8 and a half years in USA (7 months legally) all in my area. We are willing to learn French if necessary to immigrate to Quebec. I took the IELTS test and got the following scores:
listening: 7.5
reading: 9.0
writing: 6.5
speaking: 6.5
The test will expire this September so I need to rush if I want to immigrate to Canada.
Are we eligible?

Thank you.

krae

Mar 17, 2010
Hello,

Check this link

http://www.canadavisa.com/canada-immigration-discussion-board/do-you-need-a-valid-i94-in-order-to-apply-for-canadian-permanent-residency-t66767.0.html

You mention that you have stayed legally in US for 7 months but as per Immigration Canada, it requires any applicant to have legally entered a country for a period of one year. So I am not sure if you are eligible to apply for Canada Immigration. I suggest you consult a lawyer or wait for other folks to input regarding this matter. I hope I am wrong and Best of Luck with your next course of action.

upp942

May 27, 2010
USA
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo >> Ottawa
NOC Code......
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..