+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

IEC Health insurance - special case

Lodar

Apr 4, 2016
Hi guys,

I know health insurance requirements for IEC have been discussed a million times.

However, I can't find an answer to my specific case and I would very much like to not spend money on insurance if I don't have to.

As we know, the rules for insurance are:

Your insurance must cover:

medical care,
hospitalization, and
repatriation (returning you to your country in the event of severe illness, injury or death).

Some background information:

I am a Dutch citizen
  • I have been in Canada for 12 months at the end of March 2017 on a Working holiday visa
  • I've been invited for the Young Professional program
  • I will work for the same company I've been working for the last 8 months
  • I have OHIP and have been asked to renew my OHIP card at the end of this month (which I will be able to do when I receive my new visa)

The following is covered by my benefits:
Repatriation
If you die while out of the province where you live. **** will arrange for all necessary government authorizations and for the return of your remains, in a container approved for transportation, to the province where you live. We will pay a maximum of **** per return.

Repatriation benefits
If you die as a direct result of an accident 100km or more from home, we will pay up to *** for the preparation and transportation of the body for burial or cremation. We will pay the usual and reasonable expenses for this service. We will not pay for this service to the extent that it is reimbursed from other sources or covered under another benefit of this plan.
We may pay this benefit to any person who paid for the repatriation or has a claim for repatriation expenses against your estate. As long as this payment is made in good faith, ***** will be fully discharged to the extent of the payment.