+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

I am shocked by the tiny tiny market of Canada

powerssdd

Aug 4, 2019
I am a Chinese who got a CS degree at a Canadian university with a VERY HIGH GPA. I have been looking for a job in Canada for 2 months and haven’t gotten one. One may say it is because of COVID-19, but I heard that the job market here was not much better before that. I have to say, Canada is a too too too small market, and the opportunities here are too few. I come here to live in a democratic society, and Canada is excellent in this respect, but, pros and cons, the lack of work opportunities is the cost it takes. When I was in China, I only had a philosophy degree, but I got a white collar job immediately after graduation. In a huge market like China, you can get a desired job in at most 1 month. However, now in Canada, I have a CS degree, but no company is willing to give me a chance. For those who think Canada has plenty jobs for programmers, they just don’t know what a truly huge market looks like.

And I heard that to have a job, in most cases, you have to know someone in a company and get her/him referred you. You know what, this only happens in a tiny country like Canada, and in China we never do that, because you cannot fill as many as hundreds of millions' positions just by internal reference. I am very uncomfortable about the situation here. I never make friends to just use them to refer jobs for me, which disgusts me.

Besides, all the interviews I got in Canada were given by companies operated by my countrymen. For those established by local people, they rarely even take a look at my resume. They are practicing Canadian first, though they claim that they are equal opportunity employers.

This is the most desprate time in my life, and I am so disappointed by the job market here.

Reactions: PG12

Copingwithlife

VIP Member
Jul 29, 2018
Earth