+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

I am a temporary resident in Canada. Can I work for an Irish company here?

rasher83

Jun 29, 2009
Hi,
I live in Canada. I am Irish.
I have a valid work permit for a Canadian company I used to work for, it is valid for 15 more months.
An old company in Ireland has recruited me to do some work for them over here, market research, and some project specification.

Is there anything I need to do to be able to legally work for them from here?
I would imagine i don't need an LMO or work permit for working for a foreign company.
And I think I'm ok to stay in Canada until my old work permit expires.

Can anyone confirm if that is the case?
or give any helpful advice other than call CIC. :)

Anil_Toronto

Star Member
May 19, 2010
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo
NOC Code......
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
05-08-2009 (Nova Scotia - Centralised Intake Office)
AOR Received.
14-01-2010 (at Buffalo)
File Transfer...
11-05-2010 (NY Visa office)
Med's Request
11-08-2010 (NY Visa office)
Med's Done....
12-08-2010 (Toronto)
Interview........
waived
Passport Req..
07-03-2011
VISA ISSUED...
07-03-2011
LANDED..........
11-03-2011
rasher83 said:
Hi,
I live in Canada. I am Irish.
I have a valid work permit for a Canadian company I used to work for, it is valid for 15 more months.
An old company in Ireland has recruited me to do some work for them over here, market research, and some project specification.

Is there anything I need to do to be able to legally work for them from here?
I would imagine i don't need an LMO or work permit for working for a foreign company.
And I think I'm ok to stay in Canada until my old work permit expires.

Can anyone confirm if that is the case?
or give any helpful advice other than call CIC. :)