+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

How to answer have you ever been refused a visa or permit, denied entry or ordered to leave Canada or any other country?

justbeelieve

Apr 18, 2021
I am at a loss here. Here's a brief summary of what happened to me:

I was born and raised in the Philippines. I was granted permanent residency at birth because my parents were already permanent residents at the time of my birth. About five years ago, while renewing my permanent resident card and filing for a change of address, the bureau of immigration looked into my file and said that I shouldn't have been issued permanent residency as my parents weren't permanent residents yet when I was born. They asked for an explanation and our agent just told them I was young and a nice person and all, without providing sufficient evidence as to why I was a rightful permanent resident cardholder (evidence that my parents became permanent residents months before I was born). They were not satisfied with the explanation, which led to them issuing an order asking me to downgrade my status and to secure the appropriate visa. I was young at the time and didn't understand the gravity of the situation.

About two years ago, I realized that they were wrong to ask me to downgrade my status. We got another agent and I gave them all the evidence showing that my parents were already lawful permanent residents when I was born. They looked into my file again, and after about a year, the bureau of immigration issued another order reinstating my status as a permanent resident. My agent told me that my status is clear now and it would show as if nothing ever happened, but I am still worried.

I don't know what to do now. Should I check yes or no? :(

Last edited:

Dchosen1

Aug 11, 2021
What kind of PR are you talking about?