+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

How likely is rejection at landing - Criminal Background

lmnop

Apr 29, 2016
My husband and I have had our PR approved and received our landing documents. We currently live in Canada on NAFTA skilled worker visas and will be doing our landing inland. My question relates to the likelihood of rejection at the landing interview. I have an expunged/dismissed "wet reckless driving" from the US which happened in 2001. I disclosed all of this in our application and explained the circumstances in a letter to CIC when we applied. I understand one of the questions we will likely be asked is if we have ever been charged or convicted of a crime in any country. After all this time, effort, stress and money how much should I worry that we will be rejected at the last minute?

Thanks

pkssandhu

Apr 16, 2013
I am not an expert and haven't gone through the process of landing myself as yet but from what I have been reading on the forums and their experience with landing, I did not see anywhere them asking for past criminal history.

Just my two cents. Wait for other experience members to answer.

hkcec

Star Member
Jul 11, 2014
Category........
Visa Office......
Ottawa
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
03-06-2014
AOR Received.
15-07-2014
IELTS Request
Sent with application
Med's Done....
Upfront
Passport Req..
(Decision Made) 30-10-2015
VISA ISSUED...
(CoPR) 04-11-2015
LANDED..........
04-2016
Though I can't answer your question, I have done my landing two weeks ago.

On the CoPR, there is a line: Charged/convicted of a crime or offence in any country, refused admission to Canada or required to leave Canada?

And the officer will ask you to sign next to the line if the answer is NO. (I don't know what will happen if it's Yes)

Hope this gives you some extra information.

rezafc

Champion Member
Jun 19, 2013
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
LANDED..........
01-08-2014
lmnop said: