+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

how does this work???

hienz57

Mar 19, 2008
ive been seperated from my husband 6 yrs but never divorced and i have a grl friend in canada who i have been with for 3rys and want to marry and be with can anyone help ???? can i marry her or claim common- law partner while being sep. from my husband?

AJE

Mar 16, 2008
Hi, I'm pretty new to all of this..but im pretty sure you'll have to have your divorce finalized before you go on..but im not 100%sure

Gdaymate

Star Member
Sep 26, 2007
You must divorce before you can marry anyone else. Canada's laws state that if you are married legally in any other country that marriage will also be valid in Canada.

It is not essential to be divorced to be common-law partners, as long as you can prove that you have been living separately and apart from your spouse for at least 1 year.

hienz57

Mar 19, 2008
so could claim common law to get in to canada even though im not divorced ? and when my divorce is final how long before i can marry my common law?

ThirstyDeer

Star Member
Feb 10, 2008
The day you are legally divorced in Canada you can marry your sponsor. And just to be picky, not all marriages are valid in Canada. The marriage has to not break any Canadian law in regards to marriage (example: Canada doesn't recognize polygamy).

Regina_BC

Mar 29, 2008
Because you are not divorced you can neither marry not to be considered as a common law partner for IMMIGRATION purposes.

PMM

VIP Member
Jun 30, 2005
Hi

Regina_BC said:
Because you are not divorced you can neither marry not to be considered as a common law partner for IMMIGRATION purposes.
Sorry your wrong, here is what CIC says:

"5.38. What happens if the common-law partner (principal applicant) is married to another
person?
Persons who are married to third parties may be considered common-law partners provided their
marriage has broken down and they have lived separate and apart from the spouse for long