+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

HELP! Finished a 2-years program but got only 1-year PGWP.

hwwawesomeman

Jan 7, 2016
Hello everyone. I've got some issue here. Please help me!

I finished a 2-years diploma program at BC and applied for a PGWP.

Through my knowledge, student who finished a 2-years program should get a 3 years PGWP.

But today the letter I received in my CIC account shows that I only got a 1 year PGWP.

Might this be the mistake from CIC?

If yes, what should I do now in order to get a 3 years PGWP.

Thank you!

Papa Bomboy

Jan 19, 2013
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
Sorry to hear about your mishap my friend.

Although I have heard people say you can get a PGWP that is longer than the duration of your program CIC's website does mention the contrary.

Not sure if there is much you can do now. Perhaps give CIC a call and try to get some answers first.

What I would suggest is secure a job immediately and aim for Provincial Nomination. That way if your PGWP expires after a year, you can apply or already have your P.R application in place (if your aim is P.R).

All the best my friend.

hwwawesomeman said:
Someone...please help...

Reactions: Miracle2018

hwwawesomeman

Jan 7, 2016
Papa Bomboy said:
Sorry to hear about your mishap my friend.

Although I have heard people say you can get a PGWP that is longer than the duration of your program CIC's website does mention the contrary.

Not sure if there is much you can do now. Perhaps give CIC a call and try to get some answers first.

What I would suggest is secure a job immediately and aim for Provincial Nomination. That way if your PGWP expires after a year, you can apply or already have your P.R application in place (if your aim is P.R).

All the best my friend.

Thanks for your reply. Really appreciate it.

I found the related policies at the following: