+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Help a newbie- can phd be treated as work experience?

indiandude

Feb 25, 2018
Hi everyone. I have found this forum very useful. I'm a newbie from India and I have no idea with regards to my qualification for migration (under any category).

My qualification:
1. MSW (Master of Social Work)- completed in 2014.
2. IELTS score- L-8.5, R-8, S-7.5, W-7.
3. I received a scholarship to pursue my PhD and I did so from 2014-2017. I have submitted the thesis in October 2017 and am waiting for the defence and the award of the degree. It make take a few months.

I would like to know the following if possible:
1. Can the PhD period be treated as work experience? If so can someone please send a format of the letter I require to claim it?

2. My scholarship conditions state that I cannot work for more than four hours a week with regard to Departmental Assistance but can I claim more work experience as a PhD scholar (a work day here is from 10-5) ?

3. I have been a PhD scholar for 696 days based on records. Any advice on how to go about claiming work experience in this regard?

4. Should I ask my research supervisor/guide to give the said work experience letter or does it have to come from the registrar of my university? Or some other official?

I am sorry for this post but I am really confused and need some clarity on this issue. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

pawansh

Star Member
Jul 24, 2017
Hi everyone. I have found this forum very useful. I'm a newbie from India and I have no idea with regards to my qualification for migration (under any category).

My qualification:
3. I received a scholarship to pursue my PhD and I did so from 2014-2017. I have submitted the thesis in October 2017 and am waiting for the defence and the award of the degree. It make take a few months.