+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

H1b extension, US GC Filing and Canadian PR - all together?

Ashu23202

Jan 3, 2018
Hi All - I am new here so plz bear with me for below:

I am in US on H1b (first 3 years of total 6 years H1b expiring this Sep 1 2018) and so is my wife (following exactly same dates as i noted above, just that she has 4 months extra on first term of h1b since she was in India for a while). We both have masters in the US. I have an MBA and my wife has a masters in design.

Seeing that my friends working at top firms are getting RFEs and H1b visa extensions denied for even the first 3 year term, we are exploring options ahead of time. We want to stay in US, and if not US then in Canada. Both are companies shall file for our GC, but not before the 5th year of our 6 year H1b. I need your help for the following questions:

1) My plan was/is to file for Canadian PR and simultaneously prepare to file my US H1B extension through my firm in April or May of 2018. Does this pose a problem in any way - trying to pursue both at the same time? does it pose a risk to my H1b visa extension in any way?
2) If my Canadian PR gets approved and my H1b extension also gets approved and i decide not to move to canada, does that impact my future canadian PR re-filing in any way?
3) What If my firm agrees to my immediate US GC filing in March 2018 - and assuming the perm process/I-140 process runs for a year till March 2019 - how does that impact my US H1b extension in Sep 2018. Can the two run in parallel without any conflicts. If during this process, i also start my Canadian PR process, does this pose a current or future risk to my US GC filing in any way? (I can also ask my wife to start the canadian PR process as a primary applicant)

Thank you so much for your help in advance.

Reactions: ash13

Vpalanimuthu

Star Member
May 12, 2017