+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Graduated Intl Student aiming for PR

Outlawz

Dec 28, 2009
Hi,

I graduated from uni and im now working as a bank teller for 10 months with my post grad work permit. As an international student, i had no experience and started working where i could. Now im getting ready to apply for PR under CEC and i realised my occupation is considered low skill.
My post grad work permit expires in Jul/2011.

Besides me looking for another job, what are my options? As i am worried about not being able to get 1 year skilled exp before my permit is expired. My parents have also invested in a place for me here ,as i thought everything was good to go, which complicates matters even further.

Any advice will be appreciated.

P.s. Very stressed out.

jes_ON

VIP Member
Jun 22, 2009
Category........
Visa Office......
New York
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
06-May-2010
AOR Received.
13-Aug-2010
File Transfer...
01-Mar-2011
Passport Req..
30-Jun-2011
VISA ISSUED...
12-Jul-2011 (received 25-Jul-2011)
LANDED..........
03-Sep-2011
Your options are limited. "Look for a new job" is certainly one of them. You still need at least 1 year of skilled employment to qualify for any of the Skilled Worker categories. To stay beyond your post graduate permit expiration date, any potential employer will need to go through the LMO process to hire a temporary foreign worker.

You don't say what province you are in. You can look at the provincial nominee program for your province, some of them (not Ontario) include (specific) lower-skilled occupations.

http://www.cic.gc.ca/EnGLish/immigrate/provincial/index.asp