+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Got Post Graduate Work Permit for 1 year instead of 3 years(Need Help)

sr1111

Mar 15, 2015
Hi All,

I received my PGWP today and I got it for 1 year. I did my masters in University of Waterloo which is a 2 year program(I completed it in 20 months). My passport is valid till 2020. I don't know why I got it for 1 year only. I have no idea what to do now. Please guide me. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

sr1111

Mar 15, 2015
I called CIC twice today and both of the representatives said, the letter of program completion from the school doesn't have any information about the duration of the course and so they have issued 1 year PGWP. One of them said, I can apply for extension again with explanation, whereas the other one said I can't do anything. I am not sure how to go ahead. Guys, please help.

Thank You in advance.

Jfk20101

Oct 8, 2013
Provide a supporting letter from your institution outlining the duration of studies and the program code let's ask the dean of the faculty or the program counslor to make you a letter stamped and approved stating the above mentioned also tell him or her to make a little note on the letter saying that if they need further verification about this letter they can contact her of him she has to put her email phone fax number and sign it and give it to you. What you have to do it make a detailed letter stating that you studied for 2 years full time and in the previous application a mistake was made. CIC people are professional brother graduate degree is a bit different some institutes offer one year some offer 2 years they have made the laws a bit tough also send a copy of your official transcripts along with your application too this will also state the fact that you studied for the complete 2 years. If this helps let me know and good luck.

Jfk20101

Oct 8, 2013