+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Got my first job in Canada as a produce clerk is this a good job?

johnmax187

Dec 31, 2013
I recently immigrated to Canada a PR.I have a diploma in electrical engineering, but I have to get it accessed first and need some income initially before i go into to college.I applied and got a job as a produce clerk is this a good job?Anyone that has done it before can give me some tips please.I am little nervous if it involves alot of heavy lifting.

Alurra71

VIP Member
Oct 5, 2012
Ontario
Visa Office......
Vegreville
App. Filed.......
07-12-2012
AOR Received.
21-01-2013
Interview........
waived
VISA ISSUED...
28-11-2013
LANDED..........
19-12-2013
It is certainly not in your field, however if you need a job, any job that gives you a steady paycheck is a good job, imho.

newtone

Champion Member
Nov 10, 2010
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
Dont worry working as a clerk in Canada is far better than working as an Engineer in your country. Dont worry about the heavy lifting either cause health care is free. Most medical issues will b covered by the government. Having a job is better than no job

Pippin

VIP Member
Mar 22, 2010
Newtone I hope you were joking about healthcare!! I Think the point is that there are workers safety standards for acceptable weights to be lifted and how to do so to prevent injuries. You should review the concepts of good body mechanics and workplace safety. There is huge emphasis on NOT getting injured on the job in the first place. From my observation it is a busy job with lots of interaction with customers. May be a good place for some Networking as people tend to shop in the same place. Look at each person as your next potential boss. Congrats on the new job and Happy New Year!

ramcal

May 4, 2013
Laguna, Philippines
Category........
Visa Office......
MANILA
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
14-06-2012
Nomination.....
30-04-2013
AOR Received.
11-09-2013